Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.


  • Updated
  • 0
Only $5 for 5 months

“Homeland” ended its eight-season run on Showtime this April, but the Emmys didn't give it much of a goodbye gift.

The show earned just one nomination — for directing. Star Claire Danes will not win a third Emmy in her role as CIA analyst Carrie Mathison, nor will Mandy Patinkin get a statuette for his Saul Berenson.

“Homeland” over its run has won eight Emmy awards — for outstanding drama series, writing, editing and casting, among the trophies. Danes won back-to-back awards for best actress in a drama from 2012-13 and co-star Damian Lewis won once.

But after debuting with such a splash in its first few seasons, the show hasn't won an Emmy since 2013, despite getting plenty of nominations since then. Emmy voters largely shrugged this time and let Danes' Carrie Mathison drift into the Russian sunset.

Stay tuned in

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

News Alert